time slice (melia)
Digital print on paper mounted on artboard
13" x 31"
Brian Evans
Art Department, University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

This piece is a graphic musical score, a visual rendition of a classic sonata allegro form. It is music for the eyes, in search of a performer.

A sonata has several sections. This piece is shows five sections: exposition, development, retransition, recapitulation, and coda. The thematic variation and development is seen rather than heard. The piece is developed as a graphic score in two musical systems, reading left to right and top to bottom. It can be interpreted sonically in a variety of ways. It is a digital image (patterns of numbers that can drive a synthesizer or catalyze a human performance) or you can silently listen with your eyes.

Technical Notes

The image was created by slicing an abstract animation through the time dimension. The score is composed as visual music. The animation is discarded. What is left is the trace, waiting to be sonified.